

CONGREGATIONAL MEETING – DECEMBER 10, 2023

Call to Open: The meeting was opened by the Moderator at 10:45 a.m.

Members Present: 99 individuals in the Sanctuary; 15 individuals on-line; total = 114

Quorum: Yes; 86 needed for quorum; 114 present

Officials: Pastor Mike Jones – Moderator; Signe Pagel – Clerk of Session

Purpose: By Session action, a Congregational Meeting was called for December 10 with a single agenda item: elect the slate of officers (elders, deacons, and trustee) for the Class of 2026 as brought forth in motion by the Nominating Committee.

Election of Elders:

Motion to elect the slate of elders: The moderator presented the slate of elders: Bill Ashworth, Bill Enslen, Zane McMinn, Tiffany Myers, and Rob Watkins for the Class of 2026. There being no discussion, the vote was called for and the motion passed unanimously.

Election of Deacons: The moderator explained that the New Hope By-Laws call for a minimum of 18 deacons made up of three classes. With the nominations proposed for the Class of 2026, there will be a total of just 11 deacons. The Nominating Committee was unable to find more qualified candidates willing to serve at this time, and the Committee and Session recommends the following:

Motion: K. Kellenberger/C. Engelman/U. The requirement in the By-Laws of New Hope Presbyterian Church that calls for a minimum of 18 deacons shall be suspended for 12 months. The motion was opened for discussion; since no questions or comments were brought forth, the vote was called on the motion and it passed unanimously.

Motion to elect the slate of deacons: The moderator presented the slate of deacons: Sharon Ashworth, Vince Bradley, Ella Collum, and Jan Zylstra for the Class of 2026. There being no discussion, the vote was called for and the motion passed unanimously.

Election of Trustee:

Motion to elect a trustee: The moderator presented the candidate for the office of trustee: Wayne Morton, Class of 2026. There being no discussion, the vote was called for and the motion passed unanimously.

Dismissal of the Nominating Committee: In light of the completion of the election of officers for the Class of 2026, the moderator called for a motion to dismiss the Nominating Committee.

Motion to dismiss the Nominating Committee: J. Larue/B. Ritterbusch/passed unanimously.

Close of Meeting: S. Shimp moved to adjourn the meeting; R. Watkins seconded – unanimous. Elder Bill Enslen closed the meeting in prayer and it adjourned at 10:55 a.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Pr. Mike Jones, Moderator Signe Pagel, Clerk of Session